Tutorial Tuesday! Felt Dahlia

Welcome back to Tutorial Tuesday! I have a lovely craft for us to do today.

It’s safe to say that I have an on-going love affair with felt. I don’t foresee this changing anytime in the near future, so I hope you like it, too :)

This tutorial was originally inspired by Jess’s blog over at http://www.craftinessisnotoptional.com Below is how hers turned out. Very pretty! 

I’ve made a few modifications when making mine, choosing three colors rather than one, and tinkering with a few stylistic changes you probably wouldn’t notice unless you have a extremely canny eye. Whether you use Jess’s method or mine, your flower is sure to turn out beautifully, carrying potential for a number of possibilities.

** Before starting this craft, take a look at both Jess’s and my final product and decide which flower you prefer. If you like hers, pop on over to her blog and follow her step-by-step tutorial. If using mine, continue following the steps I have listed below.

Here’s what you will need: (I apologize for not taking a lump sum picture; I jumped right into making this last Saturday, and was already onto step 3 before I realized that I had yet to start taking pictures. I’m efficient if not anything else. :)

1. Felt

2. Scissors

3. Leaf and circle template 

4. Glue-gun

5. Felt pen, or a regular one will do

6. Time! Last week’s craft ran about 35 min — more if you didn’t have supplies pre-prepared. This one, however, is meticulous work. Taking into consideration it was my first attempt and I did everything as I went along, it took around 2 hours from start to finish. Put a movie on in the background, but keep your attention focused on your fingers. You’ll need to be aware of cutting and folds, ensuring each leaf is very close in size. It will look off balance, otherwise. Having templates will help with this :)

Let’s begin!

** Below you’ll see that I have cut leaves in two sizes, one large and one small. I free-handed my own template for each, but there are certainly dozens of devices to give you the perfect leaf. I’m somewhat fastidious and like having the say-so over the final effect. The circles (approx 2.5 in. are for your base and backing.

Step 1) Cut out 2 circles, and multiple leaves — I recommend starting with about 12 of each. You can always cut more if you need to.

Recognize the template I used for the circles? Yup! That’s one of the lids from our DIY Mason Gum-Jars, found here: http://thislittlelight516.wordpress.com/2012/01/10/tutorial-tuesday-diy-gum-jars/

Put one of the circles aside; you won’t be using it till the very end.

Step 2) Take each leaf, fold in half, and cut down the middle.

They should look like this when you’re finished.

Step 3) Taking the flat end of your leaf, fold the ends inward, creating a neat crease down the center. Dab glue at one corner and press for 5 or so seconds, then leave to try as you continue doing this for all of your leaves.

Step 4) Once you’ve glued all your leaves together and they are secure, begin gluing them neatly around your circle, ending up with something similar to the picture below.

Step 5) Glue your small leaves together using the same method as before, then add a dab of glue to the back and tuck them in between each large leaf.

** Because I decided to use multiple colors, I opted not to do more than 2 layers of leaves. Instead, using a small cap as a template, I cut a few circles, cut them in half and glued them to my base, creating petals.

Step 6) For the center of my dahlia, I made a scalloped rose. The next 4 pictures will instruct you on how to make one.

** Little trick: I used a black pen to trace my scalloped rose; when cutting I cut over the line, rather than under it, leaving the edges black. Personally, I think this makes it stand out, creating faux-hollowing, the way a real rose would. If you don’t like it, simply cut beneath the trace marks. :)

At this point, you will take the end of your rose and begin folding backward. For some reason I blanked here, and forgot to take a picture. I’ve included one from Jess’s blog so you can see how this is done.

After you’ve rolled the entire strip, glue a tiny piece of felt to the bottom to secure it.

Step 7) Glue your rose to the center of your dahlia base. Find that second circle you cut out and glue it to the back of your dahlia.

And voila! Here is my semi-final product!

** This was a custom-order headband for my dear friend Amanda. Later on this week, I will upload pictures of the final-final product on Crafting Water. http://craftingwater.storenvy.com/ This one specifically will show as “sold-out,” but if you would like me to make you a custom item — you choose the colors for either a brooch, headband, or barrette — please leave a comment and I will respond promptly :) The profits will go to benefit Living Water International. At the top, right upper-hand of my blog, you will see a tab that will explain my mission to reach the millions going without clean water to drink.

If you decide to make your own, I would love to see how it turned out! And as I did with Jess, please be considerate of other’s time and hard-work, and be sure to provide links :) Any questions, don’t hesitate to ask!

Until next time . . .

17 thoughts on “Tutorial Tuesday! Felt Dahlia

    • So glad you liked the Dahlia! And yes, you could definitely make one! Just takes time, patience, and practice :)

      You know . . . the only place I plan on doing tutorials is here on this blog. Other than that, my store at craftingwater.storenvy.com will have all of the items I make for purchase. Right now, it is mostly home-decor, but I have a line of accessories I will be debuting this week! Because I hope to sell as many as possible, then donating the profits to Living Water International, I don’t plan on doing too many tutorials of the things I make with the intention of selling.

    • Hi Tina!

      So glad you liked the tutorial :) And thank you for checking out Crafting Water, too! I had planned on debuting a line of hair accessories this week, but life had other plans for me :) I’m hoping to have everything all set up in the very near future!

Leave a Reply

