Tutorial Tuesday: Homemade Graham Crackers!

Happy Tuesday, Everybody!

I hope your Monday was kind to you. I’m currently languishing in bed, my rump squashed up against a pillow, wishing I hadn’t pushed it so hard at the gym yesterday. Listening to me rotate every so often, you’d think I was walking on hot coals. “Ooo. Ah. Oo-oo. Ahhhh.” What is it that leads a person to believe they have suddenly transformed into a superhero upon entering the gym? Adrenaline? Endorphins? Body-hugging spandex? In the moment, I was a stud. In hindsight, I was an idiot. Let’s just say I’ll be breaking for the bathroom on an “as imperatively needed” basis today.

Anywho . . .

I’ve found something decadently yummy to share with you today. I’m calling it a snackert: half snack, half dessert. You heard it here first, folks. Prepare for imminent takeover. Next time you’re watching Martha or Rachel whip up something fantastic, and they look over beaming into the camera and say, “Doesn’t this snackert look amazing, everyone?!” remember that it’s incipience was born at This Little Light. :)

This tutorial — originally debuted and found at smittenkitchen.com <— Amazing recipes! — is dedicated to my dear friend Kristin, who specially requested that I feature another food tutorial.

Homemade Graham Crackers - I. Must. Make. Now.

dark brown sugar

graham cracker dough

butter, cubed

honey

graham crackers

Makes 10 4 x 4.5-inch graham crackers or 48 2-inch squares

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups plus 2 tablespoons (375 grams) unbleached all-purpose flour (a swap of 1/2 cup with whole wheat flour or 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour works well here, too)
1 cup (176 grams) dark brown sugar, lightly packed
1 teaspoon (6 grams) baking soda
3/4 teaspoon kosher or coarse sea salt (4 grams)
7 tablespoons (3 1/2 ounces or 100 grams) unsalted butter, cut into 1-inch cubes and frozen
1/3 cup (114 grams) mild-flavored honey, such as clover
5 tablespoons (77 grams) milk, full-fat is best
2 tablespoons (27 grams) pure vanilla extract

Topping: (optional)

3 tablespoons (43 grams) granulated sugar
1 teaspoon (5 grams) ground cinnamon

Make the dough:

Combine the flour, brown sugar, baking soda, and salt in the bowl of a food processor fitted with the steel blade or in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Pulse or mix on low to incorporate. Add the butter and pulse on and off on and off, or mix on low, until the mixture is the consistency of a coarse meal.

[Alternately, if you don’t have a food processor or electric mixer, you can cut the ingredients together with a pastry blender. Just make sure they’re very well incorporated.]

In a small bowl, whisk together the honey, milk, and vanilla extract. Add to the flour mixture and pulse on and off a few times or mix on low until the dough barely comes together. It will be very soft and sticky. Lay out a large piece of plastic wrap and dust it lightly with flour, then turn the dough out onto it and pat it into a rectangle about 1-inch thick. Wrap it, then chill it until firm, about 2 hours or overnight. Meanwhile, prepare the topping, if using, by combining the sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl and setting aside.

Roll out the crackers:

Divide the dough in half and return one half to the refrigerator. Sift an even layer of flour onto the work surface and roll the dough into a long rectangle about 1/8 inch thick. The dough will be sticky, so flour as necessary. Trim the edges of the rectangle to 4 inches wide. Working with the shorter side of the rectangle parallel to the work surface, cut the strip every 4 1/2 inches to make 4 crackers. {The crackers displayed here are a bit smaller, 2 -inch fluted squares, which can be made using one of these.}

cutting the graham crackers

cutting the graham crackers

graham crackers, ready to bake

graham crackers, ready to bake

Place the crackers on one or two parchment-lined baking sheets and sprinkle with the topping. Chill until firm, about 30 to 45 minutes in the fridge or 15 to 20 minutes in the freezer. Repeat with the second batch of dough. Finally, gather any scraps together into a ball, chill until firm, and re-roll.

Adjust the oven rack to the upper and lower positions and preheat the oven to 350°F.

Decorate the crackers:

Mark a vertical line down the middle of each cracker, being careful not to cut through the dough (again, this is for the traditional cracker shape). Using a toothpick or skewer (you can also use the blunt end of a wooden skewer for more dramatic dots), prick the dough to form two dotted rows about 1/2 inch for each side of the dividing line.

Bake for 15 to 25 minutes, until browned and slightly firm to the touch, rotating the sheets halfway through to ensure even baking. The baking time range is long because the original recipe calls for 25 minutes. Don’t rely too heavily on the oven-temp determine when it’s ready. A thermometer will help, as some ovens run hotter than others. Be safe, check them sooner. Nobody likes a burnt cracker!

For an extra decadent experience, try them with a little cream-cheese frosting smeared on top — add another to make a mini sandwich. Come on, live a little! You can work it off later. Just don’t do what I did and invoke your entire Xena Warrior Princess in one single workout.

Enjoy!

Until next time . . .

47 thoughts on “Tutorial Tuesday: Homemade Graham Crackers!

  1. Yummy! I love homemade anything over bought. I will have to try these sometime. They look delish. I can already smell them baking. now to get the marshmallows and chocolate ready…for smores!!!!!!

    • I knew you would appreciate the gorgeous photography! These are not mine, only borrowed from the lovely cheffette whose recipe this post derived from.
      *sigh*
      So often I wish Michael was home to snap pictures while I craft; his photography is equally eminent. For the most part I’m left to snap pictures with my iphone and hope for the best. To do blogging with the utmost integrity, it really is a full-time job. With all the other pots I wish to stick my hands into, I just don’t have the time for it.

      Thanks for commenting, friend :)

  2. Pingback: Lucky Seven Meme |

  3. I love your snackert! This is such a great idea, I never thought of making my own. I remember having graham crackers dipped in milk at my great-grandmother’s house. Always a special treat! She made everything special !!!

    • Yay!! You were the first person to mention my mish-mash word!

      *throws confetti into the air and declares your awesomeness*

      You being a chef, I am not surprised you were the one to pick it out and make a remark. So glad you found the little dandy as cute as I did. :)

      Your Grandmother sounds like the like the fairy-tale version of Grandmas. Lucky duck! Mmm . . . Milk and graham crackers; does it get any better?! Golden-Grahams is my favorite cereal (tied with Cinnamon Toast Crunch) so this treat was a no-brainer. I hope you give these a try. I bet yours would turn out just as wonderful. :)

  4. You’re like the Martha Stewart of blogging. Those are some pretty cookies. I envy your skills. First, the nice centerpiece for your mother-in-law and now, graham crackers made with your own hands. I’m impressed. You should go to kickstarter.com to raise some cash for you a business. Seriously.

    • Totsy,

      You are too kind — no, really, you are. I didn’t make these specific cookies you see in the tutorial. The photography from the original post was so beautiful, I couldn’t resist sharing it with you rather than quick shots with an iphone. I’m really not all that fabulous in the kitchen . . . I enjoy a challenge every once in a great while, but I’ve found that my hubby’s capable hands are much more adept at handling all things culinary :)

  5. I am feeling your work-out pain – I mean ‘really am’ (yesterday was the start of spring cleaning here and – I – uh – was a stud) (stupid then uber dumb – should have used kid power instead…)

    I am making these – but in mini crackers (for snack mixes – I add nuts and bits of dried fruits and tiny candy nibbles to keep the snack monsters here from wanting worse things)

    Thank you for posting this one!

    M.L.

    • Argh. Why ever did we break ourselves? I admit, it was fun while it lasted, but the aftermath it enough to make me think twice next time. I doubt twice-thought will be of much benefit. I’m a glutton for good-hurt. It’s 24 hours later and I’m barely able to stand up without breaking into moans, lol. Are you able to slip into a cuzzi or hot bath? If I had either, I would be there right now, tempting “my time” by typing on the edge of the water.

      Oh, a snack-mix version of these is such a great idea! Your kids must adore you — much better than chex-mix!

      • I have two teen boys still at home…

        I want to say it is me they adore but I’m pretty sure its the food :)

        No hot baths here (one bathroom – two teens – maybe when they are in university) but I did manage to slip into a lovely glass of Pinot Grigio (ok, two) and that relaxed me enough to be able to actually lift my legs high enough to get up the stairs to my room.

        After a few hours reading ‘Voyager’ (if you haven’t read that one yet I’m pretty sure you will love it) I didn’t feel so hard done by…

        I hope you feel like you can stretch again soon.

        M.L.

      • Och, that changes things a wee bit, aye? Hee-hee (Thought you would appreciate my Scottish dialect :)

        Teen boys, you say? Have they eaten the house yet? I grew up with only one living in the house and if you didn’t have the mind to eat it straight out of the grocery bag there remained no guarantees you would ever see the food again.

        Oh, and it may be the food they adore, but you are it’s supplier — Mama Wolf. They may feign indifference, but you know deep down they appreciate all you do.

        LOL! Well, I’m glad you had something to slip into! Ah, Voyager, yes; I remember that book so very fondly. As I embark on Roger and Bree’s love story in Drums of Autumn, I find it all just a tad bittersweet, a little too similar for me; though different enough to make the relationship unique to their situation/personality. (Roger does remind me a great deal of Jamie — especially when he is, um, bedding Bree. lol.) I can’t help but feel as though Jamie and Claire have had “their time” and now it’s about their lasting, ever-enduring love which, of course I think is integral to the story, but I am hoping the focus may shift once more and we might see the fire sparked anew.

        *Crosses fingers and squeezes eyes tight*

        So glad I have a friend to talk Outlander with :)

        Wishing you a wonderful day!

      • Just realized I’m dumb – you have read ‘Voyager’ already… (because you have already mentioned Ian’s Mohawk)

        *smile*

        This is what happens when I try to pretend I am awake at 5 in the morning…

  6. My knees and hamstrings started to ache in sympathy as I read your post. Thank goodness there was a sweet reward for you after the difficult workout! The graham crackers look wonderful!

    elisa

    • Elisa,

      Your commiseration means a lot to this tired, achy girl, thank you. I’m not one dismiss or disregard a little well-earned pity :)

      Thanks for coming by today and checking out the Tutorial :)

    • Don’t they, Kelly?! Too much deliciousness floating around these parts . . . That tool is actually not in my possession. I mentioned it before and suspect I will a few more times: the photos are from the original post. I put the link at the top so you can visit directly. :)
      I agree, though; fun little gizmo to have!

  7. Have you ever witnessed a dog drool when they know a treat is at hand, but not immediately offered? [I HATE when I scatter my brain and forget to give them their treat, btw. They get extras to reward their patience.]

    Back on topic…

    Those first pics? The ones with cocoa and that yummy, rich mixture? Refer to first sentence about the dog drool. Great recipe and I am SO impressed with the concept of snackerts.

    I’ll look for an episode with you and Martha or Rachel.

    • LOL! Yes, in fact, I have! My Bella dances on her tippy-paws if I don’t instantly relinquish the treat into her open muzzle. You are so sweet to offer extras . . . A true dog-mom, you are. :)

      Don’t those pictures make everything look ridiculously scrumptious? I never knew butter could look so good. I’ll be using cubes whenever possible from now on. SO glad you loved the Snackertts (I made a small modification and added an extra t since there are two t’s in desserts). I hope they make their way into mainstream, and I can point and shout and cause a ruckus :) You are so kind, but I don’t think I will ever stand beside the likes of Martha or Rachel. I can follow recipes; creating them is a whole different sport!

      Thanks for stopping by this evening, my friend!

  8. These look delicious, Cara! I am evil-eyeing my “no white flour and sugar” rule as I type this, trying to determine whether it’s clever enough to catch me if I cheat. Perhaps I will just make these for my “niece and nephews” – ha! Seriously, though, what a fun baking day that would be! I think I know what we will be doing next time I visit with them :D Thank you for sharing the recipe and the sweet dedication. You are the absolute, hands down bestbestbestbestBEST! Love, Kristin

    • Yay! So glad you approve, as the tutorial for especially for you! I thought I was fairly safe with the graham crackers, but I wonder if you might be able to substitute the white sugar for brown sugar? Not so sure about the flower, however. If you do decide to make them — take pictures! I want to see how they turn out. Also, I think you would go down in history as the coolest Aunt ever if you do these with your nieces and nephews. :)

      You are so very welcome, Kristin. One day, when we meet, I will take you somewhere special to say thank you properly. You are such a support to AFk — and to my being in general. I’m blessed to know you, dear friend.

      Xoxo,
      C

    • LOL — I appreciate your honesty. There are plenty of craft and culinary undertakings that I know I will never do, so I can relate with the act of simply appreciating another’s work. Thank you! :) Mmm . . . Yes, chocolate would be delightful. Someone else suggested using them for smores!

    • Hi Brittany,

      Thanks! And yes, I would think that most of the ingredients you would find in a cooker’s kitchen. We have a TON of them around here. I live in a house full of Foodies! Thank you Jesus for 24 hour Fitness :)

      I do hope you try them!

  9. If you keep this up, you may get FP’d yet! I do not cook. However, I know a woman who does…and superbly. Maybe if I direct her here, I’ll get a cracker? One for Rita too?

    • Aren’t the pictures fabulous? I didn’t snap them, however. I am definitely NO photographer. Though I know a few that are incredible if you’re looking for suggestions. ;-)

      Take care, Lilly Sue!

Leave a Reply

