I Love You

My faith; of all my possessions, none hold more value to me than this. It is sustenance, accommodation, and livelihood.  As a challenge to myself, I don’t often speak directly about my beliefs or the One in which I have devoted my life to following; not because I am ashamed to say so, but because it is my understanding, that if I am being who I am supposed to be, than the need for me to tell others I am a Christian is superfluous. Do I need to tell you I have peach skin, or green eyes, or auburn hair? Of course not. And so my faith should be as evident as the most prominent features — more so! — on my face. However, with tomorrow being Easter, a day in which holds fervent meaning to me, I wanted to take a moment to acknowledge Him. To proclaim boldly that yes, I love you Jesus.

I love you with all my heart.

Tomorrow is the Sabbath. For some, this means a long laundry list of “Dos and Don’ts”, for me, it simply means that I will Rest, that I will spend the day with those I love most, but most importantly, remembering Who loves me most, and how He showed that love by laying down His blameless life to die brutally upon a cross.

Even now, as intoxicating scents waft down the corridor of my home, beckoning me into the kitchen where Michael prepares the feast in which we will happily partake, I am tempted toward distraction. Hulking wedges of frosted cake, tender chunks of sautéed tri-tip, ice-cold beer a bottle opener away from relaxation. Sadly, my stomach is often the mentor, when it should always remain the mentee. . . Though it will not come without its challenges, I will do my best to remember that tomorrow is not about the food. It is not about a bunny, either. It is not even about going to church.

It is simply about Him.

“I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” ~ Galatians 2:20

The Son shall rise.

Happy Easter, my friends. I pray you are able to spend the day with those beloved.

Love, Cara

23 thoughts on “I Love You

  1. Sadly, my family does not celebrate Easter. I will attend the sunrise service alone. And I will praise and thank Him, sweet Jesus, for dying for me. I know my offerings can in no way compare to what Jesus gave for me. All I can do is try to live my life the way He and God have asked. I fail many times, but He forgives.

    I will think of you tomorrow, Cara, while I say my prayers. Thank you for being who you are, and bless you for this wonderful post and the exquisite pictures. Happy Easter.

    • Jenny,

      I didn’t receive your comment until just now. I can only hope that although you did not have the blessing of your earthly family beside you, a comfort unmistakable in its power and glory remained with you all day long. My heart pangs with sadness that you could not share Jesus’ victory over death with those equally as exuberant. But I know our Father was overjoyed by your heartfelt praise and thanksgiving.

      Thank you for the prayers, my friend. And likewise; thank you for being just who God made you to be — perfectly Jenny. :)

  2. Ah, Cara, striking image. I remember the Easter Sundays of my childhood. I haven’t thought of that for many years. What a special time it was. I do not recall much about eggs or bunnies. We colored eggs with colored tablets melted in vinegar to make a dye. The tablets came in a cardboard container which folded out to make an egg drying rack with holes for the eggs. A wire thing came with it. We fished the eggs out of the dye water with the wire holder. Then we stuck paper images on the eggs to make a design. I thought they were wonderful. We were even allowed to eat the eggs. We always attended the sunrise services. They were awe-inspiring for a child like me. I recall having been very quiet and thoughtful in my new shoes and dress and ruffled socks. What a special, spiritual experience for a child.

    Thank you for bringing back those wonderful memories, Cara. May God bless you.

    George

    • Thank you for sharing a bit about your Easter traditions, George. You created a thorough image in my mind. As you spoke about vinegar, my nose began to tickle with the unmistakable stench not good or bad but “Easter”. Having not been raised christian, for many years eggs and bunnies remained to be my only understanding of how we were supposed to celebrate. I think I might have liked to have had both sides. The sunrise service sounds exquisite, and while I have never attended one, I do hope to eventually.

      And may God bless you, too, George. <3

  3. Cara,

    I’m a little misty-eyed after reading your post. Thank you for this today. You are a shining example of what it is to be Christ like and I agree with you 100%. I want to leave you with one of my favorite songs “You Are My King” by Candi Pearson. If you get a chance, watch the video.

    “Amazing love, how can it be
    That you My king would die for me
    Amazing love, I know it’s true
    It’s my joy to honor you
    In all I do I honor you”

    Easter Blessings to you and your family!

    Lori

    • Lori,

      Your comment came through as Michael and I were sharing a lovely meal at P.F. Changs. He is equally invested in the blog and loves to read/see what others think and say in response to my posts. I wanted to tell you that I had been feeling rather regretful for not having put more time and effort into writing this last post. To be honest, I hadn’t anticipated writing one at all, and then thought, how can I not? When I was finished, I could only hope that I had conveyed my heart in a manner which would pleased Him; though I battled with that “Not enough” disease so many of us perfectionists are afflicted with. When I read your words, my heart pricked with joy. Thank you . . .

      Xoxo

      P.S. Yes! This, too, is one of my most favorites worship songs. Simply said, but startlingly true. He bled, He died — all for you and me.

  4. What a wonderful tribute to the reason for Easter. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on your faith, your spirit and your unconditional love.

    You gave me some lovely words, thoughts, prayers and images to take with me as I head to bed tonight.

  5. Cara, thank you for these lovely words you have given us, you do express yourself in a wonderful way. I struggle with that. lol. I had a wonderful Easter dinner and relaxed and thanked OUR LORD as well. :D
    I get so emotional thinking of Jesus even on a normal day but Easter magnifies my emotions. I’m sure GOD understands.
    Have a blessed day.
    You inspire me.

    • Christi,

      Struggle, really? Pardon my saying, but both times you have left comments, I’ve felt your personality Shine through your words. If I may steal your line: I know I don’t know you, but just the small glimpse of “Christi” is a woman I would want to know and be friends with. You seem to be as kind as you are genuine.

      “I get so emotional thinking of Jesus even on a normal day but Easter magnifies my emotions. I’m sure GOD understands.”

      This was perfectly said. I was in that place yesterday on the drive to church. I turned to Michael, my husband, and with my tears in my eyes said, “I just want Him to know . . . I want Him to know that today is important to me; that I understand how much He loves me, and He gave up so that I could live.” My husband, in his quiet way, smiled over at me and said, “He knows.” He does understand, absolutely.

      Thank you for commenting. Truthfully, your words just put a smile on my face I’m certain will last throughout the day. :)

  6. Pingback: The Most Influential Man in My Life « Bless Your Hippie Heart

Leave a Reply

