What? Who? Me?

Blog of the Year Award 6 star jpeg

Kim, over at silentlyheardonce.wordpress.com, surprised me a week or so ago by presenting me with this very unexpected award. Kim writes lovely poetry, born of a passionate soul. She writes honestly and openly, sharing her thoughts without fear. Also, she supports her followers by consistently re-blogging their material. Her blog is one I enjoy on many occasion. Just do it. Go visit her, and tell her I said hello, please.

When I say I don’t feel worthy of accepting this award, it is not an act of self-deprecation, but truly a sense of genuine unworthiness. This is because, as of late, I have neither engaged in blogging, nor have I been diligent in reading very many blogs. Some of you will know my plate is a bit full right now, and some days I have just enough energy to smile and remind myself that God is Good. He is Good and His will is divine.

That said, I am astoundingly honored, Kim, so thank you!

From the creators of the award:

The ‘rules’ for this award are simple:

1 Select the blog(s) you think deserve the ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award.

2 Write a blog post and tell us about the blog(s) you have chosen – there’s no minimum or maximum number of blogs required – and ‘present’ them with their award.

3 Please include a link back to this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award –http://thethoughtpalette.co.uk/our-awards/blog-of-the-year-2012-award/ and include these ‘rules’ in your post (please don’t alter the rules or the badges!).

4 Let the blog(s) you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the ‘rules’ with them.

5 You can now also join our Facebook group – click ‘like’ on this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award Facebook group and then you can share your blog with an even wider audience.

6 As a winner of the award – please add a link back to the blog that presented you with the award – and then proudly display the award on your blog and sidebar … and start collecting stars…!

You will find all of the info plus the Awards with 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 & 6 stars upon them here

You ALL bless me. I hope you know this. I don’t have the time or energy to write up blurbs for all 269 of you, or else I would. So I chose only a few blogs, and for specific reasons; each one takes time to invest in me as a person, whether it be here on the blog of other avenues of social media, and also because each one possess a gift that, when all the components are brought together, make up the entirety of all the things I love.

http://blessyourhippieheart.wordpress.com

~ Lori is the soft the stuff, the sweet middle layer, the in-between of what we humans call “life.” Like me, she doesn’t blog regularly, but when she does, it’s always worth reading. She delights and blesses, just by being the incredible woman God created her to be. I am honored to know this woman, and even more grateful that she loves me.

http://arbitraryambrosia.com

~ Amber’s blog is a favorite un-guilty pleasure of mine. She is a woman in the know of the most fashionable and posh. There, she shares her passion for music, clothes, and thrift-shop treasures, and of course her enviable visits to all sorts of fabulous locals. Personally, I think Amber should work for Anthropologie. Just sayin’. More than that, though, Amber is a good person; you know, the kind of person that, when she says she is “sorry to hear that” or “hopes you feel better,” she sincerely means it. She is golden and true.

http://revelationsinwriting.wordpress.com

~ Shannon is my daily read. I may not always comment, but in her daily — yes, daily! She is a superstar! Not to mention a mother of twins! — writings I find both the words and courage to praise Him wherever my emotions might be in that moment. Rather than sugar-coating that sometimes life simply and plainly sucks, she delights and rejoices in the fact that we have a Savior who does not! Her posts are that meaningful rub on the back you used to get before heading out the door for school: the unspoken announcement that, no matter what, Good would be waiting when you arrived home.

http://gloriarichard.wordpress.com

~ Gloria cracks me up. I cannot make it through one of her posts without a series of small giggles of loud proclamations of assent. Gloria understands that we writers are crazy, and sometimes the only thing we can do about it, is write about the craziness. Insightful, intelligent, and witty, I find this woman to be.

http://georgeweaver.wordpress.com

~  George is an aged soul. True, she is a grandmother, but that is not at all what I mean. Likely she’s been this way since she escaped the clutches of her mother’s womb. George is authentic, hilarious, and smart — three things I admire and aspire to be. I think she’s too hard on herself. I think she doesn’t know exactly how special she is. With that camera in hand she possesses the ability to capture elegance and ugly, making the two indistinguishable. With her words she moves emotions like piano keys. George, you’re pretty cool.

http://blissfuladventurer.wordpress.com

~ Michael. Oh, Michael! Was there ever a man with more personality? The answer — case you don’t know it already — is NO. We hardly chat any more, however I couldn’t resist adding him to my list because his “stuff” is just that good. His pictures, oh my, oh my, they are lovely, let me tell you. And the writing matches the photography in both quality and quintessence. He is blissful, and he is a good man to Juliette.

http://karistaskitchen.com

~ Karista makes theee most mouthwatering dishes I have yet to discover. Rarely do I try to replicate one, but lucky for me my husband is an excellent chef, and just recently he attempted her recipe for turkey-pumpkin enchiladas and it turned out famously! Currently she has a recipe for Bleu Cheese and Bacon Stuffed Medjool Dates.

Da-da-da-da-da-dats all, folks!

Have a wonderful Friday, my friends! Love to you all!

~ Cara

30 thoughts on “What? Who? Me?

  1. Wow Cara,
    I forget just how long this year has been as I ponder this honor you bestowed upon me. For the first 5 months of 2012 I believe I had found the way and it took me some travel, some soul searching, and our dear George Weaver to teach me that this was only part of the way. For you to consider me in this capacity is a real honor and one I will not take lightly. I will indeed follow the path and accept this award with humility and the promise to keep at this craft I adore.
    You are a real trooper to post this in all of your struggles Cara. As my Grandfather always said to me “He is the way and the light” I am certain you embody this kind of faith and you will overcome.
    Un abbraccio,
    Michael

    • Michael,

      It warms my heart to hear you speak with this calm conviction. The journey at times feels both long and arduous, but I believe that is what makes it a journey, something worth aspiring to.

      I am so glad you will accept this award! May your posts continue to inspire many, and fill you with the belief and promise that you were created for Great purpose and are, without question, an integral part of His plan!

      Amen! He is both the Way and the Light.

      Blessings and love to you,

      Cara

  2. Cara- I can imagine that blogging has been tough with all that has been going on, but I want you to know that yours is one of my favorites. I love your way with words, your ability to really convey the emotions behind situations, and your beautiful insight and vulnerability. You are talented and an amazing woman who I feel a great connection. With all that being said, I can not tell you how honored I am to be mentioned among the few amazing blogs here. I know mine is pretty light-hearted and often lacking substance, but the creativity of it is my therapy! I’m glad that you can appreciate that, too… and being an ever faithful commenter :) Hope you have a great weekend! – Amber

    • Oh, Amber, thank you for these kinds words . . . I imagine you to be such a blessing to the women in your life. I also imagine you to be the kind of friend who is not only willing to answer the phone in the middle of the night, but to respond by asking what else you might do. People like you are rare.

      I would have to disagree with you about your blog lacking substance. Though you do not share emotional trials or the quiet thoughts that lurk in the back of your mind, I hear your clear voice and pure heart pour through in each post you present. I see a bit of you in the music you choose, the clothes you select, the pictures you share, and I always come away smiling and buoyant. I adore your blog!

      Love to you, dear one!

      ~ Cara

  3. Congratulations, Cara. I echo what others said. You deserve this award. Through the turmoil, peaks and valleys of the last year, you invariable post insightful, open and honest articles. We know we aren’t alone, and more importantly, you give me the opportunity to give back with words of encouragement or commiseration.

    With My Noodle Noggin Glob Hiatus, I am not certain when I can live up to expectations for this award, but I will make certain I link back to you with a big hug of gratitude when I mention it my next post.

    You put so much time and effort into selecting these awards. I’m honored, and will give my nominations the same careful deliberation you gave yours.

    Take care, cutie! Sending prayers for better days ahead in 2013.

    • Ah, Gloria, always the thoughtful woman. Thank you . . .

      No pressure. When you have both the time and inclination to respond, please do. If that time should never come, that grudge will not be held against you. I only wanted you to know that I appreciate you and your thoughts.

      Love to you, my friend!

    • Thank you, Mary. I do appreciate those sentiments. I see words as building blocks; either we can build great, beautiful things with them, or we can leave them where they lie, useless and inconsequential. May we always choose opalescent strands and shining towers.

      Take care!

  4. Cara,

    Congratulations! You truly deserve this award. Not only are you an amazing and talented writer but you are an even more amazing person with a beautiful spirit and giving heart. I treasure your friendship more and more every day. Your words regarding my blog are about the sweetest thing I’ve heard in months! Thank you! I am humbled and very thankful to you for including me in your list of nominees.

    Keep an eye out for a post in the mail from Texas soon. ;)

    Love you!

    Lori

  5. Congratulations, Cara. You deserve this. I miss your posts and while I don’t drop by to say hello often, you are always in my prayers. Big hugs and may 2013 bring you so much more peace and wellness.

  6. Mollusk Girl. You and Michael were among the very first people whom I encountered here. I still remember the streetcar (or was it a bus … I prefer to think “streetcar”) story. I read the exchange between you and Michael in which you lamented that you were “as thin-skinned as a mollusk”. That was such an effective analogy that it stuck. You became Mollusk Girl and remain so in my old head. And what a little mollusk girl you are.

    I am touched by your recognition of my blog. I don’t do “cocktail party conversation” as you know. I am not easily affected by anything. I am old. But, there is something about you that is different. Often, I have chuckled as I heard you seriously lament something that I knew you’d forget soon enough. You are a tender little flower in a big-girl body. It’s as if your spirit sends out new little shoots into the sunlight and into the darkness as well like a spring flower unaware of danger. I have a sense of watching where I put down my feet in your garden lest I trample on one.

    I am not good at receiving anything, but I will do my best. You encourage me to continue blogging. Thank you, Mollusk Girl.

    • I believe, at the time, it was a bus, but we are the architects of our memories, George, so I say we edit the bus out and replace it with a streetcar, and bullocks to anyone who tries to stop us.

      It’s a good name, it really is . . .

      When I said this to Michael all those many months ago, I feigned the words in jest, though really it was in all seriousness. And the more I reflect on the nuances of what exactly a mollusk is, I feel the fit. If I could choose one mollusk, however, I would choose a clam or an oyster; I’d like to think that I am constantly working toward making beautiful things — pearls to be more specific. Contrary to popular belief, pearls are not formed when a grain of sand enters the mussel, but begins its genesis when the shell has been invaded by a parasite. The most common reason a natural pearl will develop is due to parasitic invasion. This is where the agnomen you’ve bestowed me really starts to take shape. I would consider careless words to be a parasitic invasion. You can’t run or plug your ears if you don’t know something is coming. So with my tender heart invaded, it is up to me then to harbor that hurt, spit it back out, or turn it into something uniquely captivating. Something opulent. And there is where I am given the opportunity to be brave, in the face of Choice. You can imagine how many years I have dealt with this idiosyncrasy of mine, and here I am today, still soft, still loving despite the hurt it occasionally yields, still putting my heart out there in the hopes someone is blessed. I don’t think there is anything wrong with navigating our steps.

      I’m glad you will accept this award. It is good to know you, George. You bless me.

      Love,
      Cara

  7. You light up my day when you visit my little blog, gracing it with your beautiful insights and endearing words of encouragement. I can’t think of anyone more deserving than you to be acknowledged so highly by one of their own.

    Blessings,

    Elisa

Leave a Reply

