Cause We Can — One for One Movement

Hi, Friends,

I’m hunkering down inside today. The weather, at least, isn’t taunting me with sunny skies and warm air. It’s perfectly awful outside and I’m loving it.

Somehow — prayers would be lovely — I injured my foot, and am unable to walk very well. I’ll skip the part where I teared up last night and moaned like a baby seal, and get to the good stuff. What better way to spend my time, then posting about something I’m passionate about.

Giving.

There seems to be a strong misconception that supporting a cause means you must drain your wallet or endure monthly drop-offs of unwanted junk at your doorstep.

This simply isn’t so.

Meet our family of TOMS.

Many of you will have heard about TOMS’ “One for One Movement”. But just in case you haven’t, let me share it with you. And because I want you to stay with me, I won’t copy and paste a bunch ofΒ verbiageΒ you won’t read; I’ll give it to you straight and simple: You buy a pair of TOMS shoes, and they send an extra pair to someone who needs them. That’s it.

 

Michael’s pair. Well loved, wouldn’t you say?

 

Pretty in pink.

 

Just Loungin’

 

Here’s a few shots of children receiving their shoes.

Precious boy.

 

It’s shoe time!

 

A village receives shoes.

 

Checking out his new kicks.

 

So what about you? Need a new pair of shoes? Know of someone who does? I would ask that you would check out TOMS before looking elsewhere. In terms of comfort, I doubt you’ll find better. Looking for something dressy or stylish, check out their knitted flats, glittered canvas, or printed wedges. Want something simple, durable, and goes with just about anything, take a look at their basic canvas in red, black, taupe, blue, pink, white, brown. They offer a full line of men’s, women’s, and children’s shoes. Prices start around $39 and go up from there. Remember, though; this is for two pairs of shoes.

And you know I couldn’t resist showing you at least one picture of their children’s shoe.

Oh, get out! A wrinkly baby-tush? I can hardly stand the cuteness.

Maybe just one more . . .

Okay, last one, I promise!

Baby toms? COME ON! love.it.

 

In the event you are shoefully provided for (They also have a line of eye-wear now!), I would then ask if there is another cause you might be willing to support. There’s tons out there, folks, and it doesn’t have to be painful. You just need to be willing. One act of Good goes a very long way.

It’s up to us to be the Light and spread it around.

To learn more about this incredible organization, or to purchase a pair of TOMS, please visit http://www.toms.com.

Blessings.

53 thoughts on “Cause We Can — One for One Movement

    • That’s wonderful! If you do, please let me know. I would love to see which ones you choose πŸ™‚

      Thank you, friend. I’m trying not to let pain and slowness of step rob me of my Joy. I know you understand this far better than I. Bless you.

  1. What a thoughtful post. And you did it in such an entertaining and provocative way! You can steal the heart so well, Mollusk Girl. Now, I have to have a few pairs of Toms! Those images just STICK in the head. You are such a lovely human being.

    • So sweet, George. Thank you . . . I hardly know what to do with such a nice compliment. I honestly think you would LOVE TOMS. In fact, you came to mind when I was writing this post and I thought “George’s lovely feet would look great in a pair of simple red TOMS.” If you buy a pair, please let me know. Would love to see ’em.

  2. Ooh, poor foot! Feel better.

    Love Toms! Almost all my high school kids have at least one pair. I’m still waiting for then to come out with a sandal version. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, sweet friend. I’ve been doing everything I can not go to poutin’ around the house. Finished another wreath for a customer, so feel good about that!

      Ooo… sandals would awesome. I’ll give Blake a call and see what I can do, ha!

    • Sweet, Gloria, always going around saying the perfect things to people. I hope you’re having a blessed Sunday πŸ™‚

      Yay!! Are you really? I tell ya, I’, just beaming over here from all this feedback. So many have expressed what sounds to me like genuine interest in purchasing TOMS. Let me know which ones you go with!

      Xoxo

  3. This was so sweet and especially love the little baby butt!! I’ve never owned a pair of Toms but I do love how they look, sounds like a great cause for buying some new shoes. πŸ™‚

    • Haha! Baby-butt! Just made me laugh all over again πŸ™‚

      Oh, I hope you check them out, Tina. With you being so passionate about style, fashion, and “What’s Hot” I think you would definitely find a pair you like for every occasion. I absolutely see you in some fierce wedges, maybe with a bright print, Ooo! Ha- I agree. Certainly makes the act of giving “rewarding.” πŸ™‚

    • They are suuuuper comfy! My go-to shoe when I’m not in the mood to be fussy. I hope you find a pair you love — they have so many to choose from now!

      Has it been raining where you are? We’ve had stormy days the past 2 days, which is somewhat uncommon for Southern CA. I’ve been lovin’ it, though; gives me a reason to stay inside and play on Pinterest. πŸ™‚

      • Oh, New York. I have never been, but I hope to one day. It’s one of those places you just neeeed to visit once — at least I need to πŸ™‚

        Yes, I so agree. That tap-tap is like a water-symphony. I could listen to it all day and never grow tired of hearing it.

      • I grew up in NY in Queens but I love to go into Manhattan it’s really is fun. I never really wanted to come to California because of earthquakes but I have family in Long Beach, San Francisco and I think Oakland. So I want to now only problem is flying. Uh..okay scared and I hear with my lungs it’s not advisable.

      • Oh, we are kindred spirits. I do not fly, will likely never fly again. If we go, it will be by train. Maybe this would work for you as well? CA is beautiful and of course I would recommend a visit πŸ™‚ But your health is the most important.

      • Yes seems we are. I have thought about taking a train. Preferable a sleeping car. Or getting some one to drive cross country with me. Something like Thelma and Louise only without the crimes. πŸ™‚

  4. The cuteness of the wee bottom sold me!

    (I have to wait till I’m a granny to see that kind of cute again)

    I keep seeing things about Toms on pinterest but I have never owned a pair myself – they look so comfy I think I will have to fix that soon (and I LOVE that they donate a pair for a pair – that is fabulous)

    Oh – and *sends prayers* I hope your foot feels better soon!

    M.L.

    • Ah, a wee bottom . . . is there anything better!? I think not.

      Yes — they are incredibly trendy; though not everyone is familiar with the message/story behind the product. TOMS just began doing the same thing with sunglasses; you buy a pair and they give the gift of sight to someone, either in a pair of prescription glasses, treatment, or surgery if necessary. Crazy, huh? Just incredible . . . Let me know which ones you pick if you get some!

      Thank you, thank you!! πŸ™‚

    • What wonderful timing, Tosty! I can’t even tell you what it does to my heart to know so many people are really considering purchasing TOMS over another shoe. After you buy yours, let me know; I would love to know which ones you got!

      Blessings!

  5. I love Toms! We have at least 6 pairs in our closets, they are so comfy and what a great cause to support. Prayers going up right now for your poor little tootsie!

    Peace and Blessings!

    Lori

    • Aren’t they awesome!? I’m not surprised to hear that you guys are fans πŸ™‚ I only have one pair — Michael two — so I’m thinking maybe I might be due for a pair of spring flats. Yippee!

      Thank you, Lori! You are so sweet to lift up a prayer for me. Doin’ a little better today.

      Xoxo

    • Ah, that’s so great! I love how many people are interested. Honestly, I figured everyone would have already had/heard of TOMS. They are super trendy out here simply because of their look; though not very many people know the story behind the product.

      Hm . . . you may have to have a custom shoe made if you’re wanting the pink. For you, though, I’d bet they’d work something out πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you, Olivia! I have received the Versatile Blogger Award before, so I will make note of that in my previous post. As for the Kreativ Blogger Award. I have not had the pleasure of receiving, so thank you once more! I will make a post for this soon πŸ™‚

  6. I do hope you feel better quickly! And what a wonderful cause! I may just have to obtain a pair for myself… and another. Thank you for sharing!

  7. YES!! We are huge TOMS fans and support the cause behind the product. They are a common sight in the hallways of our daughter’s high school, they kids love both them and the idea they are supporting something great…very heartwarming. Like you…heartwarming!

    I hope you are mobile again soon! Rest and ice! (I really don’t like to ice, but it does help!)

  8. I like what TOM’S is doing, but I’d also like to see them do a little more since this move has made them millions upon millions of dollars in profit too.

    I normally don’t like their style but loved the blue pair with the laces in that first photo.

    Enjoy the sunlight and other people. Crawl outside if you must but get some of that sun and keep sharing good things like this.

    • Hi Posky!

      The shoes in the first photo are actually black, but– they do have some sweet new blue ones that I plan on buying for my hubby. They rest a little higher around the ankle, almost like a low boot.

      I do love the sunlight, though I should be better about getting my pasty self out to enjoy a bit more πŸ™‚ I will absolutely continue to share the Light and the Good. I cannot stop.

      Thanks for coming by today πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

