A Bella Feast

Don’t panic! Bella is safe and in one piece. Chihuahua makes terrible meat — too gamey.

πŸ™‚

As you are likely aware, it’s Tuesday (or Wednesday), and normally I would have a Tutorial to show you. While I could probably drum up something quick or borrow one from the multitude of crafty people on WP or Pinterest, I thought maybe a little deviation might not be such a bad idea. I love to make things; there is no possibility of me not finding my way back to this labor of love. But, for now, my focused has shifted. It’s had to, lest I become a very fragmented individual. Do you struggle with that, too? Splitting yourself into so many slivers, that you wind up with a dozen things half-done? I am a multi-tasker by nature, so it feels pretty good to me knocking out many chores at once. For example, vacuuming while a load of laundry washes, running to these grocery that also happens to have an ATM inside, catching up with a friend on the phone while I put on my make-up. There are some things, however, that incur grave consequences should they not be given an appropriate amount of focused attention; say, watching T.V. while conducting brain surgery, or, if you’re a man, reaching for something while you heed nature’s call.Β In my early days, as a prominent brain-surgeon, I figured this out the hard way; messy business, botched brains. I have yet, however, to experience firsthand the trials of poor aim; only firsthand experience cleaning it up.

Instead of a Tutorial, I am offering you something that is never-ending her capacity for bringing me joy–Bella.

By now, it’s fairly clear that I am indisputably obsessed with my dog-ter. Yes, pardon the eponym but “pet” or “animal” just isn’t sufficient anymore. This is my baby — possibly the only baby I’ll ever have. She is the perfect blend of adorable and challenge. She lets me sleep, but occasionally I’ll wake in the dead of night to one of her reverse sneezes. Like any good mom, I rouse to her alarm, rushing into the bathroom to shove my fingers into her nostrils; yes, this is how you impede a reverse sneeze. Again, messy business, tis love.

You know how parents are always telling you “When it’s your own kid, the nuisances don’t bother you so much” ? I think a similar philosophy exists for animals. Have you even woken to your neighbors dog howling, sat there and watched someone else’s cat lick itself incessantly, or had a bird do its warm, gooey business right on your hand. Awful and terrible — enough to send you fleeing in the other direction.

There’s something about that animal belonging to you, though, that makes all the difference. Truly, I don’t mind.Β Bella loves me. I know she does. We communicate. Call it bizarre or lunacy, that’s fine by me, I embrace it all the way!

One of my favorite things to do is to give Bella accents and speak on her behalf. She is a Chihuahua, so sometimes this results in her sounding like the Chiquita banana lady, but usually it’s something soft and sweet or — just like her.

Here’s my baby, everyone, and enjoy the Bella feast. Happy Tuesday!

Peek-a-boo!

Posh Chihuahua.

Splat!

Bottoms up!

Sleeeeepy.

Nap time.

“I see you, mom.”

Here’s a short clip of my playful cutie:Β Bella plays

46 thoughts on “A Bella Feast

  1. This dog has more character than most of people I have ever worked for in my life. Dogs under blankets are simply a formula for a happy experience. Nice shots all the way around. Don’t you have another dog as well? How old is Bella? She seems young and very playful.
    This is an occasion where your being around clearly trumps my wanderlust. I have not had a pet since I was a kid because I cannot stay in one place long enough nor afford a place large enough to give it a proper home. I am envious of your pet(s) and many others yet I know I would not be able to provide the home or attention they need.
    Cheers to cool pets and many “bella” days

    • Ha! Thank you, Michael. We think she has quite a personality, indeed! It’s just the three of us. Perhaps in the future we might give her a canine brother or sister (or maybe a human one!) but for now, she’s all our small room will accommodate.
      Since we rescued her, it’s hard to pinpoint exactly how old she is; likely 2ish, maybe 3.
      Oh, yes — playful is her middle-name (because I just have it to her). Did you click on the link at at the bottom? Pretty cute stuff if you have a minute.

      Aw. That hurts my heart. I think every family needs a dogter or dogson, but I applaud you for knowing your limits as one who sojourns frequently. Maybe, once you have J have settled, you can seek out that lovable addition to your family. I hope so. πŸ™‚

      Cheers back at ya!

    • Now where was I? The conversation’s moved on. Maggie doesn’t like it if I’m not giving full attention to her stomach when she considers it breakfast/dinner time … What I wanted to say was that there have to be some advantages to advancing years, when Wanderers perhaps put their cases down in some place long enough to call it a home. Did you meet the Misses Kotte? I waited over 50 years till the time seemed right … and like Clara, I merely exist to obey.

  2. That is an adorable little girl you have there. My mom raised chihuahuas for a while, but all that’s left is the one old man…he’s 10-ish, with arthritis in his hips that makes him limp…but he never stops running around the neighborhood! When he wants inside, he’ll march right up to you and whine till you pick his skinny bum up…and him with it…and carry him. But if he doesn’t want to, arthritis or not, there’s no catching him! πŸ˜‰

    PS: My brother the bigot refused to admit that chihuahua were mexican/hispanic as the name suggests…so he decided that they were Hawaiian instead. Chi-hooa-hooa.
    *giggles*

    • Okay . . . I am not exaggerating this even a teeny-bit when I say I just burst out laughing at Chi-hooa-hooa. Oh, that’s too too good! Then I told my husband and he man-giggled. Thank you kindly for the laugh before bed. We just watched New Girl, so it was the perfect cap to a jovial evening.

      The story about “old man” is pretty funny, too. He sounds like a character and would fit in nicely around here. I aw’ed a little bit about his limp, but his scrappy disposition is precious. Do you have any pets, yourself?

      Thanks for coming by, KC. πŸ™‚

      • *snorts* “man-giggle” That’s priceless. I know exactly what you mean, even. πŸ˜‰

        My Boy-Toy used to do that, before I broke him and he went away. 😦

        As to Chico, yeah, he’s a character. A little neighborhood romeo, even though he’s been “fixed”. (Seems like a misnomer…more like broken, than fixed. πŸ˜‰ ) He brings “girlfriends” home all the time…we have to chase them off the porch so they don’t eat the catfood.

        Right, then…time to copy/paste the rest of this over on my blog, and leave you a link so if you have a spare hour or two to waste, you can go read it. πŸ˜›

        http://kyotzeta.wordpress.com/2012/04/11/commentrantpartial-autobiography/

  3. What great pix, Cara. Bella is so expressive. I love it!

    I’m a dog lover, too. But, mine are a tad larger than yours. By, say–give or take–70 pounds? I don’t know what I’d do without my girls.

    I totally understand the mutual admiration society you and Bella have rocking along at your place. Great post. Hope your ankle is healing. Take good care of yourself.

    • LOL! 70 lbs is quite a bit! That’s about 13 Bella’s πŸ™‚ I would love to see some pics of your babies some time.

      Ankle is doing well, thank you for checking in on me, Gloria. You are such a dear woman. You take care, too!

      Xoxo

  4. “My sunshine doesn’t come from the skies,
    It comes from the love in my dog’s eyes”

    Not sure where this quote came from, but it is so true! No matter how bad things are, one look into those dewy eyes and all the cares of the wolrd seem to drift away. My sweet pup is curled up next to me as I type these words. God bless you and little Bella!

  5. She’s precious! I totally do the making up voices for my dogs too. They have whole conversations with their Dad with my voice narrating, and it totally made me crack up that when I started doing it, A started answering back! He never thought it was weird. One of those things you do, I guess, when they’re yours. I never thought I’d be a dog person…until I was. Now I can’t picture life without my two fur balls, and the only downside is knowing I’m giving so much of my heart to creatures I’ll surely outlive. But that’s my morbid, catastrophizing side coming out. I’m so happy Bella brings you such joy. If we every get together will have to have a puppy playdate!

    • LOL! Yes! M and I do this, too, and all of sudden we will stop and look at each other, realizing we’ve had an entire conversation through Bella. Not weird, though . . .

      I am like you, in that I never thought I would be a dog person; especially not after a horrendous experience with a malt-poo we bought from a store. He was a terror, but mostly this was our fault for thinking we were ready to handle a puppy when our schedules were 8-5. Bella is just . . . perfect.

      😦 Ugh, I hate when this certain fact is thought about. It’s true, though I can hardly bear to think too much about that before tears start to well up. I can’t think like that, and neither can you! We must cherish these little miracles God has given us to love and that love us back πŸ™‚

      Yes, I am all for a puppy-playdate!

      Will write back soon, my friend.
      Xxoo

      • It reminds me of my favorite book from high school, Weetzie Bat by Francescia Lia Block. In one of the sequels she says that if she could go back and re-wish a wish (she found a genie once and got three wishes) it would be to wish her dog, Slinkster Dog, could have a human life-span. Not sure if that made any sense, but that’s what all this made me think of. πŸ™‚

  6. my little cats that i used to have were bigger than that! even my 9 lb shih tzu was bigger! and now, well…joe weighs around 100 lbs and dia weighs about 45, sooooo

  7. I love to hear stories of when people treat their doggies like family members. I think there should be tests and certain people should never be allowed to own. PERIOD.
    My daughter got a gift from her dad almost 9 years ago in the form of a cute lil fur ball mini pom/chihuahua. I cannot tell you how many memories I have of her (Poochie) aka T.A.B.A.= True American BadAss. lol. She was something else. She had congestive heart failure and past away on my bday last year. It was so sad and it will take me a long time before I’m ready to own another. But I have my grand-dog.. He loves his G-Ma. lol.
    My friend just got a Maltese/Chihuahua and she is so cute!! I love DOGS… all shapes and sizes.
    Your lil bella is totally adorable. I mean, who could resist that lil face? Tell me, does she have a T.A.B.A alter ego? haha
    My fav pic is the peek a boo!! πŸ˜€
    God Bless you guys for giving her a loving home!!

Leave a Reply

