Review – Me Before You, By: Jojo Moyes

 

 

 

Happy Sunday, everyone! (Or Monday, for those of you further east, in which case, sweet dreams.)

Hope it’s been a lovely one so far. I finished a book today and I thought I would share with you the review I posted on Goodreads. Feel free to find me there! Cara’s Goodreads

me before you

 

 

Three things highly untypical of me:
1) Spending the better portion of the afternoon in bed reading a book. (I prefer reading at night.)
2) Suddenly being possessed by the urge for a cup of good tea. (I am a coffee drinker, like religion.)
3) Losing myself in a book.

Rather than a parenthetical explanation, I think I should elaborate on that last one. As a writer, I cannot read a good book without simultaneously contemplating what is making it good; nor can I simply overlook the problems with a poorly written novel. I suppose it would be like a doctor watching an episode of Scrubs and not noticing every little detail about the operation, what he approved of or didn’t.

I can’t help but wonder how other Believing readers have received this book. I fear the delicacy with which Moyes crafted Me Before You could perhaps be dismissed or condescended when tossed against a finite mind and its unwavering attitudes. I am a believer, you see. I love Jesus Christ with all my heart, soul, and mind, and if it were me in Will Traynor’s position, well, honestly, I don’t know. I don’t know what I would do. I’d like to say that with those I love by my side and the resolve that I am loved and deeply cared for by an involved God, I would persevere despite any grave setbacks. I’d like to say that, but I don’t know for sure. I consider my life an open book, so I feel no modesty in sharing with you that I experienced a brief, though intense, medical stint in early 13, in which nearly the entirety of my quality of life was destroyed. Reduced to zero. I lay awake at night, paralyzed by insomnia and anxiety, unable to dim the constant pain even with sleep. I spent my days sobbing in bed or quietly staring out the front window, wondering if those beyond were really appreciating the life they were living. And while that went on, I can’t say there weren’t a few times that, while standing in my kitchen slicing an apple, I didn’t glance down at my wrists and see them in a way I never had before, in a way I couldn’t have as a well person. Through my ill eyes, I saw my wrists as fragile yet powerful, within them lying the power to bring me life, or take it away . . . It was a dark, difficult time, by which I am forever changed, and I suppose, truly, this is what allowed me to connect with this book at the level I did.

And for me, the biggest thing is that I don’t ever feel the need to defend my faith. It would be like defending that I am here, existing. It just IS. It is me. Me is it. I know what I have is something Good. I know I am who I am because of that something, that Someone. However, this personal truth is mine. Would I like to share it, explain it to someone curious or interested or offended? Yes, of course. I think we should always, always be taking about what angers and frightens us. Healthier that way. But I’m not a foister. It would be like trying to share my Most Amazing Plate of Spaghetti with someone allergic to tomatoes. They don’t want it, okay? Take your marinara and scat.
So, I hope the content and nature of this incredibly well-told story will not be a deterrent to those ***spoiler*** strongly opposed to ending a comprised life. The issue at hand is quality of life, and I think it was handled deftly, brilliantly, intimately, and objectively.

Continuing on spoiler free . . .

But as I was saying, I don’t very often lose myself in a book, good or bad. I am attuned and aware of my reading a book from the perspective of a reader just as much as I am doing so as a writer. That said, I lost myself there at the end. I stopped admiring the lovely descriptions, the careful turn of phrase, witty quips and realistic conversations, and I just became one hundred percent ENGAGED. I did not cry, but it took conscious effort not to. Mainly I focused on the headache following a long reading sob, but there were a few close calls when I felt the pressure mounting, right there between my eyes, and I just had to keep going.

I understand that this is not a proper review, so I am sorry if you set out reading thinking it would be. I don’t write proper reviews; nor do I write proper books. But what I will say is this: if you want to be locked up inside a book so cleverly narrated and vividly alive, then read this book. While you’re at it, read mine too!

.

.

.

Oh, you know me too well . . . I couldn’t resist creating a cast! And although these characters might have been described differently to me, this is how I chose to see them. The beauty of a book, I daresay. Maybe don’t look though if you like creating your own casts.

 

Lou (Louisa)

amelie

 

 

Will

will

 

 

Camilla

Jessica-Lange

 

 

Stephen

Film Title: It's Complicated

 

 

Nathan

astin_sean-Sean Astin

 

8 thoughts on “Review – Me Before You, By: Jojo Moyes

    • There are many days I would agree with you! But then again, there are those days you want nothing more than to see them end. Wouldn’t it be nice if we could pick and choose? Like roll-over minutes? Haha! Hope you find some time to settle down with a good book soon. I have all sorts of recs for you when you’re ready. xxxooo

  1. ” I consider my life an open book….” So does God!
    I was sorry to read about your pain and happy to know you passed that test. Thank you for the perseverance.

  2. Wow, thank you for sharing your own experience. I think all of us are in for a few times in our lives where the days seem dark, but when we come out of it, we’re stronger and wiser for it 🙂 Hooray for that!

Leave a Reply

