Tutorial Tuesday! Hand-Dipped Pretzels

Happy Tuesday, cyber-land!

I hope this day finds you well and able. So, I don’t know about you, but Sunday gluttony rolled over into my salubrious Monday, which in turn resulted in Cara doing sluggish laps around the perimeter of gym, like a gold-fish in a bowl. Lacking endorphins and a mightily gleaned sweat-glow, I arrived home in such dour funk, that when my dear, innocent, dough-hearted husband greeted me at the door, attempting to cheer me upon earlier-than-normal arrival time with a smile and “Oh, good! We’ll have more time together tonight.” I brushed passed him, pivoted on my heel, and gave him this:

 

. . . aren’t I sweet?

Luckily, I had time to ponder my wrecthed behavior in the shower, and by the time I emerged, was reminded of things such as clean water at my disposal, the roof over my head, the dream-career I have, the healthy body free of disease, a husband who loves me despite the snotty faces I give him. I am a blessed woman, and for the most part abundantly full of joy and thanksgiving; though, occasionally my Surly comes out, brandishing an ensemble complete with machete, chain-metal, and spurs. Don’t worry, though; I wouldn’t dream of behaving that way around people who hold my tenuous vitality with the click of a “subscription management” button. 😉

Sorry, I got carried away — as usual. Okay! On to today’s tutorial!

As we prepare to celebrate Valentine’s day in 7 days *cups hands around mouth* Hey, Michael Olsen! Did you hear that?? 7 days. Just thought I would mention that to you — that Valentines’s day is in 7 days. That’s one full week. Approximately 168 hours. 10,080 minutes. I’m, um, not counting or anything, though . . .

Anyway, moving on . . . I thought it would be fun to do a themed tutorial to celebrate the holiday that arrives in 7 days. 😉

Below is a incredibly simple, but tasty treat, sure to have everyone gobbling them up as fast as you can whip em up. I made these for the Super-Bowl party last weekend and *gazes humbly at cuticles* was showered with warm praise and accolades for my fine achievement in the avant-garde of culinary desserts. Then everyone decided that the football game wasn’t really all that important and hoisted me up on their shoulders, carrying me about the neighborhood shouting, “All Hail The Snack-Queen”

Okay, fine . . that didn’t happen. Can you tell it’s about time to start writing?

Materials:

Tiny Twists Pretzels (I used Rold Gold)

Ghirardelli White Chocolate Chips

Sprinkles!

Step 1) Melt chocolate

Step 2) Dip pretzel

Step 3) Try not to put the dipped pretzel into your mouth

Step 4) Wipe drool off your chin

Step 5) Decorate

Look! My pretzel has Bling.

Soon enough — that is, if you or nearby ruffians haven’t eaten them all —  you will have amassed a fleet of scrumptious pretzels

Step 6) Leave them to dry on parchment paper or foil for about 30 minutes, then grab a pretty plate/platter, arrange, serve, and hastily retreat before your fingers are mistaken for snacks. 😉

And there you have it! Perfect party treat for themed and otherwise occasions.

Until next time . . .

12 thoughts on “Tutorial Tuesday! Hand-Dipped Pretzels

  1. Cara, you are truly the way and the truth and the life. I love this line
    “I wouldn’t dream of behaving that way around people who hold my tenuous vitality with the click of a “subscription management” button.”

    Did you go for any wholly dipped pretzels or do you have an aversion to dipped fingers?

    • An incredibly nice thing to say, M. Thank you. You couldn’t have picked a more complimentary compliment 🙂 As I’m sure you’ve caught on, I love me some Jesus. In every way possible, I attempt to emulate the incredible legacy He left while on Earth. He is, as you so eloquently put it, the way and the truth and the life. I am but one sparkle on a canvas full of glitter.

      Ha! Well, since you asked; yes! Ick. The Hubs and I both have a strong aversion to having sticky, unctuous, gritty substances on our fingers. Weird? Plus, I would have consumed half the chocolate by licking alone! LOL! I’m reminded of the statement you made today in your post; something to the effect of the first thought you have when waking is what you will eat, and the last thought being much of the same. Too funny, and honestly, I’m right there with ya! 😉

    • Hi! So great to have a new face around here. You are very welcome!

      And thank you for being so gracious. Yes, I suppose we are all entitled to have a petulant moment occasionally, right? 😉

  2. Nice theme, nice story, nice pretzels. There. I’m done.

    I apologize for being unable to respond to your last comment on my page. I must have chosen to limit replies to three never imagining that anybody might be interested enough for more than one…if that. Now, I can’t figure out where to change it back. Rats!

    No, I don’t have published work unless you consider what we write here “published”. I just make stories in my head. Don’t all Mollusk People? I think life hurts us. Never our neighbors, but us. So, we create our own reality in third person.

    Be very careful what you say near an old Mollusk woman. You might give her ideas that she would be better off without in the HOME. When she babbles nonsense about Mollusk People, the Ogres are certain to sneak those shut-her-the-hell-up pills into her morning gruel. The consequences are real.

    • You couldn’t be more right about life hurting us. On tougher days I think perhaps God made me incomplete. That He forget to give me that last layer of skin necessary for shrugging off criticism, or dismissing a tactless jab. A lambent reply is usually my response, and then on the inside my soul weeps. I crawl into the arms of my husband and talk about how much it all hurts. He brushes the hair away from my face and tells me that I was made this way for a reason, for a purpose, and then I know it’s the truth. Purpose. You, my Mollusk-friend, were too made this way for a purpose. This world needs our sensitive souls; without them, there would be a bunch of apathetic, jeering jerks walking around, insulting people, none the wiser. I learned three very important words a few years ago. I use them sparingly and with prudence. Not everyone “gets” it, and that must be taken into consideration. “You hurt me” You tell the right person that and they learn, and hopefully next time they will be more careful when dealing with Mollusk-people.

      Have a wonderful day, my friend.

Leave a Reply

