When the dog bites . . .

Today I stray from Meaty Ave. and head down Dalliance Ln. Won’t you join me, please?

Last week, while at the gym, I and one of my more gregariously uninhibited friends, loudly and spontaneously broke out in song. How this came about, well, that I am still not quite sure of; and whether or not gym-patrons were lachrymosely tossing ruby-red long-stemmed roses, or hurtling squishy rotten tomatoes at us . . .  remains to be seen.

Either way, however, it got me thinking about a couple things: one being, that perhaps we could start a fun new trend, hm? Can’t you see it? People residing in all four corners of the facility — the cardio cougars, the grunting weight-wielders, the somnolent stretchers, and the zany Zumba-teers . . . wow, Cara, just wow — coming together in jovial harmony. Could be fun, yeah? Well, I had another thought, too, this one less likely to cause a mass riot. But before I get into that, take a look at this picture.

Oh, Julie . . . let’s be friends, shall we?

You cannot tell me this doesn’t make you smile; if you do, I won’t believe you. That is, unless, you have yet to see The Sound of Music, which, if that’s the case then stop what you’re doing this instant and head to Target. They should have a few copies. Once home, watch and enjoy! The rest of you stick with me . . .

Perhaps you are wondering how and why The Sound of Music suddenly made an appearance in this post. Well, I tell you: because the song my loquacious friend and I sang just so happened to be “My Favorite Things.” The temptation is high, I know, but do try and not get ahead of me. I promise there will be plenty of time to do what I know many of you have already begun doing, sitting behind your compeer screen, lips twitching in anticipation. With that said, I’ve posted the link for your connivence. Come on, you know you want to. Take the two minutes and nineteen seconds and listen to a song that is sure to bring you to your feet in merry soprano. Simply click “open link in new window” and sit back and sing. Heck, go on and grab a hair-brush if you like. No one’s watching.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BwTphY_QMUo&feature=fvwrel

Ah, that was nice, wasn’t it?

So that other thing I was telling you about. Many of you will know that the last three months haven’t been the easiest to endure. Though the Lord continues to move in the benighted and scary, one cannot help but feel episodes of hopelessness and desperation. And for me, anyway, singing is one of the ways in which I thrust back, push the baser emotions aside in exchange for vitality, praise, hope, and passion. When I was a little girl, I idolized Whitney Houston and Celine Dion — I wanted to be just like them when I grew up. In lieu of recent events, I am quite thankful to be Cara, however, their gifts are paramount, and I believe one of the gifts God gave to me is my love and expression for music. Maneuvering around my kitchen the other morning, unexpectedly I found myself singing the first few bars of “My Favorite Things.

Raindrops on roses, whiskers on kittens, bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens . . .

It wasn’t long before I was twirling around the stage — ahem, the kitchen — fingers bunched in my robe, eyes scrunched and mouth ajar, freeing the songful beast determined to have me. And so I let her.

While I did that, I began to consider my favorite things. The other day I wrote of things and their lack of eternal value, but that does not mean things do not have some value. Maybe you’ll agree that, in the midst of trials and sufferings, how easy it is to lose sight of the simple joys God has given us. I thought it might be wise to compile a list, so that during those times when the light seems to flee in the other direction, I might have a source of joy to consult. So, in no particular order, here they are; a few things that, should my mood be colored blue, are bound to return my soul to its glad-song and joy.

What better way to spend a casual night in, then with friends, popcorn, candy, and a fantastic flick? I certainly don’t know of one.

Wild curly hair — check. Thick-rimmed frames — check. Book in tow — super check. Up there with writing and volunteering, reading is likely my most gratifying passion. I considered using pictures of books I adore, but that could take a while; instead I opted to post the Book Worm herself.

This

+ This

= ultimate content. Saturday morning is my time, to eschew the urge to check e-mails or get busy on the chores moaning they cannot wait. Oh, but they can, and they will. After an hour with my coffee and a magazine filled with all sorts of gorgeous rooms, ideas, and inspirations, I am wanting for nothing.

Large or small, sumptuous or simple, fragrant or scentless — it really doesn’t matter to me; a bouquet of flowers holds magical powers. My heart flutters at the sight of them.

Let’s see how good you are. How many of you can guess where I am? I’ll give you a few seconds to think about it.

. . . . . . . . . . . Time’s up!

Did you guess the thrift store? If so, award yourself three points, which you can cash in anytime you like in return for one sincere accolade. I could walk the aisles of a thrift store for an entire day. It would be heaven. However, usually the dust bests me in about 2-3 hours, and I am forced to evacuate the premises, red-eyed, sneezing, and with a grin the size of Texas on my face. For the treasure stowed in my bag was surely worth it.

PJ’S! I’ve lost count of how many sets of pajamas I own, but it has to be somewhere around a dozen. I cannot own enough. And they are conducive to my profession, as creativity does not cater to cinched waists, confining support-systems, and uncomfortable heels. Be freed fleshy appendages!

My predilection for things lemon takes on many forms. This candle — Harry and David’s, Lemon Bar — is divine. Within moments of igniting the wick, the house is teeming with the affable, not-too-overwhelming aroma of sweet, citrus-y, decadent lemon. Our sense of smell, I feel, is something we often overlook, neglecting to appreciate it as much as we should. Without smell, taste would not be nearly as satisfying, nor would the moments you spend partaking of a person, place, or thing be nearly as enjoyable. The smell of rain on asphalt. Chocolate-chip cookies baking in the oven. The grass just after its been mowed. That first sip of coffee in the morning. Or that fresh, soapy scent lingering on your love’s skin, seconds after she’s emerged from the shower . . .

Hardly in need of a caption, I will be brief here and say that it is those first moments of the night’s capitulation to morning’s glory, the blossoming sky unfolding its hued petals in sultry delay, that unmakes me, that soothes my lethargic soul and imbues me with strength.

So how about you? Would compiling a list of some of your favorite things be of benefit to you? This post was an indulgence of sorts, mostly fun, but not completely useless. Though today I find myself in good spirits and positivity, I cannot expect trouble to entertain herself for long. She’ll be back; she always is. So why not be prepared, I say.

Happy Sunday, everyone!

19 thoughts on “When the dog bites . . .

  1. Reading your blog is one of my favorite things. You always make me smile. Now I have to watch the Sound of Music…well, after I watch Once Upon a Time and then stream Merlin from the UK. Thanks for putting the bee in my bonnet. Now I’m signing, “Perhaps I had a wicked childhood. Perhaps I had a miserable youth, But somewhere in my wicked, miserable past, I must have done something good. For here you are standing there loving me, whether or not you should. so somewhere in my youth or childhood, I must have done something good. Nothing comes from nothing, nothing ever should…” Ah, to heck with it. Going to fetch the dvd now. Geez. 🙂

    • Jenny,

      What an incredibly nice thing to say, thank you . . . I am so glad to know that I bring a smile to your face. You do so for me, as well, but in a completely different way. It seems you are always on the up-and-up, knowing who’s go this deal, who’s coming out with this book, how to make this-and-that more appealing, tips, strategies, suggestions, etc . . . You have a knack for remaining informed, and I am often grateful for your posts.

      *sigh* I do love that song. Now you have ME singing it, and I thank you for that, ma’am! 😉 I cannot think of a better way to start my day, then with a romantic little tune twirling her way through my noggin.

      Ah, I am jealous! I do not have my copy with me. Well, I hope you enjoyed it, friend. Take care!

  2. What a lovely post, Cara! The local theater did “The Sound of Music” so the music is still in my head. Thank you for sharing some of your favorites. Reading your post is a favorite WordPress for me.

    • Thank you, Jonel! Oh, how nice that you were able to see it live. I have yet to do that, but I must — soon! Did you find it just as entertaining as the movie? taking into consideration, of course, that it lacked two of the most incredible voices and actors of our time? That first dance they share, Christopher and Julie, I swoon every time!

      Such kind words, thank you . . . 😉

  3. Great post. No matter what your favourite things are, it’s good to know what they are. A few of yours are mine – staying in on Saturday night to watch a movie, books & reading, writing, community work, coffee, ‘house’ magazines, Saturday mornings, flowers, thrift shops (but I don’t have your endurance so I make frequent but brief raids), proper soul nourishing fragrances, but I prefer dusk to your dawn, as the day slips away, and early morning walks to greet the day 🙂 I think your post will inspire everyone to rejoice in their favourite things 🙂

  4. Humming and thinking of favorite things enjoyed this weekend…lunch with girlfriends, bike ride with hubby, good food, sleep, adult sons who spend the afternoon here studying and doing laundry, grandson’s smile, sunshine, reading blogs that make me smile (like this post), and lots of thinking and writing. Happy humming, Cara!

  5. I love your list of favourite things and I am especially a fan of Sound of Music. Much like your friend, I often break out in Sound of Music songs, although I do confine this to comfortable places and not out in public! Great post – made me smile! x

    • Thank you, Melly. It was a sweet treat for me to put this list together. Just considering one’s favorite things stirs a sense of giddiness.

      Isn’t it such a wonderful film? I was in such funk when I could not find a place to rent it that evening. We own it, of course, but it’s packed away along with most of our belongings. I will just have to see if I can borrow from a friend.

      Do you really? Well then I really think it’s time you break out a little further, and join my friend and I at the gym. I think a trio would work quite nicely. 😉

      Happy Tuesday to you, Melly!

    • Thank you, Kim. I did not have time to comment the other day, but I did stop by your page. Your poem was lovely — you are blessed with a gift.

      A good place, yes; with Him at my side, I can be in no other.

  6. Cara, you never fail to entertain! I admire your ability to dig deep when you’re not feeling well and to channel your positive energy into embracing the things you love. Your reference to The Sound of Music was priceless!

    • Elisa,

      When I was a little girl, I was certain that when I grew up I would either be a professional singer or actress; I have long since put both those dreams aside, not because they are childish, but because writing came to me in a stolen night. Still, that part of me, innate and not easily squelched, likes to flick her fancy boa from time to time. 🙂

      Glad you enjoyed this one!

  7. I always want to respond to your posts with words as well crafted as yours. I stare at my keyboard not knowing how to cleverly start to tell you how much I enjoy reading what you have to say. But, once again, you’ve made me smile. Your blog is one of MY favorite things!
    Beth

    • Beth, I would hope that you know your thoughts are a lovely gift to me, no matter what form they take! I think people underestimate the amount of time that goes into writing a post. I have long since been a believer that it is not always what you say, but how you say it; though this pertains to only certain venues. Friends chatting, for example, should never be held subject to the same scruples. I am so glad that you not only dropped by, but left an accolade that very truthfully brought a grin to my face. So happy I could make you smile! You will know, or at least I hope you do, that your blog is a favorite of mine as well. I am always curious to see what the Renegade Seamstress has sewn up! 😉

  8. A fun and happy way to celebrate life and all the excitement it brings. Every image makes me smile and you made me how once The Sound Of Music inspired me to sing. I have 5 siblings and we pretended then to be the kids in the movie. My mom will play the piano and would perform and sing around our family…..thanks for a beautiful memory.

Leave a comment